Oral history interview with Akilah Shedrick, 2018

 

Name
Shedrick, Akilah (Interviewee)
Boone, Kurt B (Interviewer)
Title
Oral history interview with Akilah Shedrick, 2018
Abstract
Akilah Shedrick discusses her childhood, growing up in Brooklyn and the south Bronx, and experiencing homelessness. She talks about carrying drugs to North Carolina for a friend and being arrested and incarcerated for her first offense. She details what jail and prison were like in terms of conditions, work assignments, relationships between prisoners, and the inadequacy of the legal aid system. Sh e then discusses her experience with parole, focusing on her undergraduate education and the financial difficulties of being a student. She talks about later in life going into mass communications as a TV producer
Collection Name
Mass Incarceration oral history collection
Subjects
Mass incarceration--United States; Families, Black--Effect of imprisonment on; Homelessness--United States; Legal aid--United States; Mandatory sentences--Law and legislation--United States; Parole--United States; Shedrick, Akilah; North Carolina Correctional Institution for Women
Format
oral histories
Genre
Interviews
Physical Description
45 pages
Note (Biographical)
Akilah Shedrick was born in Brooklyn, New York and was raised in the South Bronx. She was incarcerated at the age of 17 in North Carolina at Bragg Street North Carolina Correctional Institution for Women for 10.5 months. She works as a television prod ucer
Note
Interviewed by by Kurt Boone on December 3, 2018
Note (Provenance)
Akilah Shedrick, Gift, 2018
Language
English
Library Location
Columbia Center for Oral History, Columbia University
Browse Location’s Digital Content
Catalog Record
16613752
Also In
Oral History Archives at Columbia
Persistent URL
https://dx.doi.org/10.7916/23mn-wf45
Related URLs
Available digital content for this interview.